Athletics

Athletics Calendar

Athletics Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Mar 31
Mon, Apr 1
SOFTBALL @ Christ the King
-
TBD
Tue, Apr 2
Wed, Apr 3
Thu, Apr 4
Fri, Apr 5
Sat, Apr 6
Sun, Apr 7
Mon, Apr 8
SOFTBALL @ Bishop Laughlin
-
TBD
Tue, Apr 9
SOFTBALL v. Cathedral
-
CP/Heckscher 1
Wed, Apr 10
SOFTBALL @ Nazareth
-
American Legion Field
Thu, Apr 11
Fri, Apr 12
SOFTBALL v. Christo Rey
-
Nostrand Playground Farragut Place & E32nd Street, Brooklyn, NY 11210
Sat, Apr 13
Sun, Apr 14
Mon, Apr 15
SOFTBALL v. Sacred Heart
-
Lennon Park 91 Lake Ave, Yonkers, NY 10703, United States
91 Lake Ave, Yonkers, NY 10703, United States
Tue, Apr 16
Wed, Apr 17
SOFTBALL v. Christ the King
-
TBD
Thu, Apr 18
Fri, Apr 19
Sat, Apr 20
Sun, Apr 21
Mon, Apr 22
Tue, Apr 23
Wed, Apr 24
Thu, Apr 25
Fri, Apr 26
Sat, Apr 27
Sun, Apr 28
Mon, Apr 29
Tue, Apr 30
Wed, May 1
Thu, May 2
Fri, May 3
Sat, May 4

Our students excel both in the classroom and on the field. Our athletic teams are open to students in all grades and compete against other girls high schools in the Metropolitan area.

Sports for the 2018-2019 academic year include: Basketball, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Cross Country Track, Indoor Track, Outdoor Track and Volleyball.

ATHLETICS 2018-2019

Forms

Try-Outs

ATHLETICS ORIENTATION: On Monday, August 13, 2018, a mandatory orientation meeting will be held for all sports to discuss the upcoming season and the school’s expectations and requirements. The meeting will be held at the offices of Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC, 640 Fifth Avenue, 9th Floor (entrance on 51st Street). When you arrive, you will check in and indicate that you are there for the Dominican Academy meeting.

The times of the orientations are as follows:

Softball/Tennis--1:00 PM

Basketball--1:30 PM

Swimming--2:00 PM

Cross Country/Track--2:30 PM

Soccer--3:00 PM

Volleyball--3:30 PM

VOLLEYBALL: Dominican Academy will offer a skills and conditioning training camp for all athletes trying out for the 2018 Varsity Volleyball Team. Any Freshmen or new students who wish to try out for the Volleyball Team are encouraged to participate in our camp from August 20th-23rd from 9 AM to 3 PM daily. Please click here for more information, and to register.

Tryouts for any student interested in playing Volleyball for the 2018-2019 year will take place on Friday, August 24th.

SOCCER: Soccer tryouts for all Freshmen and prospective new players will be held on August 20th and 21st from 4-6 PM. Interested students should meet in front of D.A. at 44 East 68th Street by 3:45 PM. Please bring cleats, shin guards, a soccer ball, and water.

Practices will be held the last week of August. Students who are chosen for the team will receive information on specific dates and practice times. Please bring cleats, shin guards, a soccer ball, and water.

CROSS COUNTRY: Check back soon!

Please contact our Athletic Director for more information, or for any sports not listed here.


Parents and Sports

We are still looking for Parent Volunteers to assist in coaching and coordinating for our sports teams for the 2017-2018 season. If you are interested in learning more about becoming a Parent Sports Volunteer, please contact Athletic Director, David Fernandez at athleticdirector@dominicanacademy.org .